UTA is a government special service district overseen by a 16-member board of trustees. Special service districts are typically smaller than a state agency but serve an area larger than traditional city or county borders.

Organization and Governance

UTA’s Board of Trustees provides broad direction, acts as a governing authority, and sets policies and goals on matters such as ridership, services and financial responsibilities. The board is also responsible for hiring UTA’s president and CEO, chief legal counsel, and chief auditor.

UTA’s Board members are primarily appointed by local elected officials in the agency’s service area, which includes Salt Lake, Weber, Davis and Utah counties and select cities within Box Elder and Tooele counties. The Utah Transportation Commission and the Utah Governor, Speaker of the House and Senate President also each appoint one member to UTA’s board. In addition, UTA’s primary funding source is from sales tax revenues generated only in the communities that have elected to be a part of UTA’s service district.

The representation on UTA’s Board of Trustees is as follows:

  • Salt Lake County and the municipalities of Grantsville and Tooele – 5 seats
  • Unincorporated Salt Lake County – 1 seat
  • Salt Lake City – 1 seat
  • Utah County – 2 seats
  • Davis County – 1 seat
  • Weber County and the municipalities of Brigham City, Willard and Perry – 1 seat
  • Utah Transportation Commission – 1 seat
  • Governor – 1 seat
  • Speaker of the House – 1 seat
  • Senate President – 1 seat
  • Tooele and Box Elder counties (non-voting) – 1 seat

Each board member serves a four-year term, and the procedures for appointing members are determined by the Utah State Legislature.